Selasa, 18 Januari 2011


Pada tumbuhan kelas / tingkat tinggi dapat dibedakan atau dibagi menjadi dua macam, yaitu tumbuh-tumbuhan berbiji keping satu atau yang disebut dengan monokotil / monocotyledonae dan tumbuhan berbiji keping dua atau yang disebut juga dengan dikotil / dicotyledonae. Ciri-ciri tumbuhan monokotil dan dikotil hanya dapat ditemukan pada tumbuhan subdivisi angiospermae karena memiliki bunga yang sesungguhnya.
Perbedaan ciri pada tumbuhan monokotil dan dikotil berdasarkan ciri fisik pembeda yang dimiliki :
1. Bentuk akar
- Monokotil : Memiliki sistem akar serabut
- Dikotil : Memiliki sistem akar tunggang
2. Bentuk sumsum atau pola tulang daun
- Monokotil : Melengkung atau sejajar
- Dikotil : Menyirip atau menjari
3. Kaliptrogen / tudung akar
- Monokotil : Ada tudung akar / kaliptra
- Dikotil : Tidak terdapat ada tudung akar
4. Jumlah keping biji atau kotiledon
- Monokotil : satu buah keping biji saja
- Dikotil : Ada dua buah keping biji
5. Kandungan akar dan batang
- Monokotil : Tidak terdapat kambium
- Dikotil : Ada kambium
6. Jumlah kelopak bunga
- Monokotil : Umumnya adalah kelipatan tiga
- Dikotil : Biasanya kelipatan empat atau lima
7. Pelindung akar dan batang lembaga
- Monokotil : Ditemukan batang lembaga / koleoptil dan akar lembaga / keleorhiza
- Dikotil : Tidak ada pelindung koleorhiza maupun koleoptil
8. Pertumbuhan akar dan batang
- Monokotil : Tidak bisa tumbuh berkembang menjadi membesar
- Dikotil : Bisa tumbuh berkembang menjadi membesar
A. Contoh tumbuhan monokotil :
- Kelapa, Jagung, dan lain sebagainya.
B. Contoh tumbuhan dikotil :
- Kacang tanah, Mangga, Rambutan, Belimbing, dan lain-lain.

Monocotyledons or monocots are one of two major groups of flowering plants (angiosperms) that are traditionally recognised, the other being dicotyledons or dicots. Monocot seedlings typically have one cotyledon (seed-leaf), in contrast to the two cotyledons typical of dicots. Monocots have been recognised at various taxonomic ranks, and under various names (see below). The APG II system recognises a clade called "monocots" but does not assign it to a taxonomic rank.
Monocots comprise the majority of biomass produced in agriculture. There are between 50,000 and 60,000 species within this group; according to IUCN there are 59,300 species.[1] The largest family in this group (and in the flowering plants as a whole) by number of species are the orchids (family Orchidaceae), with about 20,000 species. The economically most important family in this group (and in all plant families) are the true grasses, family Poaceae (Gramineae). These include all the true grains (rice, wheat, maize, etc.), the pasture grasses, sugar cane, and the bamboos. True grasses have evolved to become highly specialised for wind pollination. Grasses produce much smaller flowers, which are gathered in highly visible plumes (inflorescences). Other economically important monocot families are the palm family (Arecaceae), banana family (Musaceae), ginger family (Zingiberaceae) and the onion family Alliaceae, which includes such ubiquitously used vegetables as onions and garlic.
Many plants cultivated for their blooms are also from the monocot group, notably lilies, daffodils, irises, amaryllis, orchids, cannas, bluebells and tulips.

Dicotyledons, or "dicots", is a name for a group of flowering plants whose seed typically has two embryonic leaves or cotyledons. There are around 199,350 species within this group [1]. Flowering plants that are not dicotyledons are monocotyledons, typically having one embryonic leaf.

Dicotyledons are not a monophyletic group, and therefore the names "dicotyledons" and "dicots" are, strictly speaking, deprecated. However, the vast majority of "dicots", do form a monophyletic group called the eudicots or tricolpates. These may be distinguished from all other flowering plants by the structure of their pollen. Other dicotyledons and monocotyledons have monosulcate pollen, or forms derived from it, whereas eudicots have tricolpate pollen, or derived forms, the pollen having three or more pores set in furrows called colpi.

Traditionally the dicots have been called the Dicotyledones (or Dicotyledoneae), at any rank. If treated as a class, as in the Cronquist system, they may be called the Magnoliopsida after the type genus Magnolia. In some schemes, the eudicots are treated as a separate class, the Rosopsida (type genus Rosa), or as several separate classes. The remaining dicots (palaeodicots) may be kept in a single paraphyletic class, called Magnoliopsida, or further divided.

Struktur Anatomi Akar

Secara umum struktur anatomi akar tersusun atas jaringan epidermis, sistem jaringan dasar berupa korteks, endodermis, dan empulur; serta sistem berkas pembuluh. Pada akar sistem berkas pembuluh terdiri atas xilem dan floem yang tersusun berselang-seling. Struktur anatomi akar tumbuhan monokotil dan dikotil berbeda.

Struktur Anatomi Batang

Secara umum batang tersusun atas epidermis yang berkutikula dan kadang terdapat stomata, sistem jaringan dasar berupa korteks dan empulur, dan sistem berkas pembuluh yang terdiri atas xilem dan floem. Xilem dan floem tersusun berbeda pada kedua kelas tumbuhan tersebut. Xilem dan floem tersusun melingkar pada tumbuhan dikotil dan tersebar pada tumbuhan monokotil.

Struktur Anatomi Daun

Daun tumbuhan tersusun atas epidermis yang berkutikula dan terdapat stomata atau trikoma. Sistem jaringan dasar pada daun monokotil dan dikotil dapat dibedakan. Pada tumbuhan dikotil sistem jaringan dasar (mesofil) dapat dibedakan atas jaringan pagar dan bunga karang, tidak demikian halnya pada monokotil khususnya famili Graminae. Sistem berkas pembuluh terdiri atas xilem dan floem yang terdapat pada tulang daun.